Telesat Canada. Telesat Canada was incorporated in 1969 by an act of Parliament (RSC 1970, c.T-4) to establish and operate a domestic satellite telecommunication system. It is a commercial venture whose ownership is shared by Canadian telecommunications carriers and the federal government, with possible public participation. It provides telecommunications services for the transmission of television, radio, telephone, teletype and data communications through a microwave link between earth stations and satellites in orbit. Its annual report is tabled in the House of Commons by the minister of communications.

Textile and Clothing Board. This board was established (SC 1971, c.39) to receive complaints and conduct inquiries about textile and clothing goods imported into Canada under such conditions as to cause or threaten serious injury to Canadian production. After its investigative procedures are completed, the board makes written recommendations to the minister of industry, trade and commerce. The board consists of three members appointed by the Governor-in-Council and maintains its head office in the Ottawa region.

Treasury Board. The board was established as a committee of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada by order-in-council PC 3 of July 2, 1867, and was made a statutory committee in 1869. The minister of finance was appointed chairman of the board, with four other privy councillors to be designated as members by the Governor-in-Council. The secretary of the board and the members of his staff were employed by the finance department.

By the Government Organization Act, 1966 (SC 1966, c.25) the board was established as a separate department of government with its own minister, the president of the board. The committee constituting the board includes, in addition to the president, the minister of finance and four other privy councillors.

The Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10) defines the board's responsibilities as the central management agency of government. These responsibilities include the organization of the public service, financial management, annual and longer-term expenditure planning, and expenditure control, including allocation of resources among departments and agencies of government; management of personnel functions in the public service; and improvement in the efficiency of management and administration in the public service.

The Treasury Board secretariat is divided into seven branches: administrative policy, efficiency evaluation, financial administration, official languages, personnel policy, planning and program.

Uranium Canada, Limited. This Crown company, incorporated in June 1971 under the Canada Corporations Act (RSC 1970, c.C-32) pursuant to the Appropriation Act No. 1, 1971, and the Atomic Energy Control Act, (RSC 1970, c.A-19) is an agency corporation under the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1970, c.F-10). For all purposes it is an agent of Her Majesty and its powers may be exercised only as such. The shares of the company, with the exception of the qualifying shares of the directors, are held by the minister of energy, mines and resources in trust for Her Majesty. Registered under the trade mark UCAN, the company acted as an agent on behalf of the federal government in the acquisition and sales of the joint stockpile of uranium concentrates established under an agreement with Denison Mines Ltd. dated January 1, 1971. UCAN also holds title to the general stockpile of uranium concentrates acquired by the federal government during the years 1963-70. The corporation's head office is in Ottawa.

VIA Rail Canada, Inc. Incorporated on January 12, 1977, VIA Rail Canada, Inc., is a subsidiary of Canadian National and is financed directly by the federal government. However, it operates at arm's length from CN, being neither comprised in CN nor consolidated in its accounts. Its functions are to market and manage all railway passenger services in Canada. It took over marketing June 1, 1977 and management April 1, 1978. The corporation consists of a board of directors composed of a minimum of three to a maximum of 15 members including a chairman and president. The head office is located in Montreal and the company reports to the minister of transport.

War Veterans Allowance Board. This board, established under the authority of the War Veterans Allowance Act, is a quasi-judicial body of eight members, including a chairman and a deputy chairman, appointed by the Governor-in-Council. The board acts as an appeal court for an applicant or recipient aggrieved by a decision of a district authority and may, on its own motion, review and alter or reverse any adjudication of a district authority. The board is responsible for advising the minister of veterans affairs with respect to regulations concerning the War Veterans Allowance Act and part of the Civilian War Pensions and Allowances Act.

Yukon Territory Water Board. The Northern Inland Waters Act, which came into effect in 1972, established the Yukon Territory Water Board whose objects are to provide for the conservation, development and utilization of the water resources of the Yukon Territory to provide the optimum benefit for all Canadians and for residents of the Yukon Territory in particular. The board achieves these objects by licensing water users. The licences contain terms and conditions which regulate the quantity of water to be used and the quality of waste water returned to the environment.

The board consists of nine members, six of them private citizens nominated by the commissioner-incouncil of the Yukon Territory. Three are federal government members appointed by the minister of Indian affairs and northern development.